Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


FCCLA members Earn Awards at State Leadership Conference

Fifty-three members of the Howells-Dodge FCCLA Chapter attended the State FCCLA Leadership Conference in Lincoln on April 12-14.  The theme for this year’s conference was “Toward New Horizons.”  Selected to sing the national anthem at the opening ceremony on Sunday evening at the Pinnacle Bank Arena was Hailey Coufal of Howells-Dodge.

On Monday, April 13, these members competed in State STAR Events and earned the following awards:  Bronze Medal Winners - Connor Blum, Jordon Brichacek, Ryan Macholan – Sports Nutrition Jr. ; Joey Kratochvil, Justin Horejsi, Justin Shonka Hospitality, Recreation and Tourism; Silver Medal Winners - Brittany Cech – Consumer Issues Jr.; Anna Borman and Bailey Rohrer – Family Challenges and Issues Sr.; Miah Nathan, Ellie Sheaks – Food Innovations Jr.; Casey Smith, Megan Kaup – Food Innovations Sr.; Hunter Nathan, Nathan Kathol – Interpersonal Communication Sr.; Savanna Hurley-Szabo - Environmental Ambassador Sr.; Abby Coday, Faith Molacek, Ashley Vanderworker – Sports Nutrition Sr.; Gold Medal Winners - Kelly Cech, Kara Brichacek, Vanessa Hegemann – Health and Wellness Sr.; and Kalli Brester, Sam Brester, Tessa Brester – Focus on Children Sr;  State STAR Event Runner-Up - Seth Novak – Nutrition and Wellness; State STAR Event Champions - Jordyn Brester, Katelyn Steffensmeier, Emily Wragge – Life Event Planning Jr. 

Honored as State Power of One Award winners were Ryan Molacek, Justin Evert, Tyler Brichacek, Tyler Polacek, Justin Bazata, Mitchell Prusa, Darren Hegemann, Luke Renter, Jon Yosten, Jesse Faltys, Lee Vering, Alex Steffensmeier, Holly Tomcak, Dylan Kucera, Hailey Coufal, Caitlin Klosen, Mallory Rolf, Shelby Hegemann, Lindsey Pickhinke, Chelsea Bayer, Haley Eikmeier, and Emily Ritzdorf.  Also attending as a chapter delegate was Dax VanLengen. Sponsors were Rhonda and Jessica Bartling and Adviser Marla Prusa.

The Howells-Dodge Chapter received the following awards:  Gold Star Chapter, Leadership Service in Action Award, Families Acting For Community Traffic Safety, Red Rose Chapter, and 1st Place Chapter Development Award.

At the closing ceremony on Tuesday, April 14, Carter Bracht was installed as State Vice President of National Programs.  Carter will be one of eight officers serving on the Nebraska FCCLA State Officer Team throughout 2015-2016.